Certification: Elevating Device Mechanic

The Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA) administers the certification and training of elevating device mechanics.

The Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA) administers the certification of occupations regulated under the Technical Safety and Standards Act, 2000. As a part of that process, TSSA offers a number of certification and training services for elevating device mechanics in Ontario.

TSSA’s Elevating Device Mechanic Policies and Procedures (pdf) set out the requirements for elevating device mechanic certification. They include important definitions, information on the different Skills Passports, and a certificate holder's rights, privileges and obligations. 

The following certification categories are specified in Ontario Regulation 222/01, Certification and Training of Elevating Device Mechanics

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class A (EDM-A) – Elevating Device Mechanic 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class B (EDM-B) – Construction Hoist Mechanics 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class C (EDM-C) – Elevating Device Mechanic for owner/operators of elevating device equipment 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class D (EDM-D) – Elevating Device Cab Renovations 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class E (EDM-E) – Lifts for Persons with Physical Disabilities 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class F (EDM-F) — Elevating Device Inspector/Consultant

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class CE (EDM-CE) – Elevating Device Mechanic Electrical for owner/operators of elevating device equipment 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic Class CM (EDM-CM) – Elevating Device Mechanic Mechanical for owner/operators of elevating device equipment 

  • Elevating Device Mechanic-In-Training Class T (EDM-T)

Depending on your job, you may need to be certified in more than one class. 

Learn more about:

Obtaining a Higher Certificate Classification

In accordance with Section 6 of Ontario Regulation 222/01: Certification and Training of Elevating Device Mechanics and the Elevating Device Mechanic Policies and Procedures, mechanics-in-training or mechanics who would like to obtain a higher certificate classification (i.e. EDM-A, EDM-B, EDM-F, etc.) must submit an application for assessment prior to the examination and certification process. 

If you believe your work experience gives you the necessary knowledge and competence necessary for each additional certificate or class of certificate you are seeking, learn about TSSA’s Challenge Certificate Assessment for Elevating Device Mechanics (pdf).

Certification and Examination

If you are submitting a request for certification, reinstatement or an out-of-province assessment, you will be required to submit the following application forms:

If you have questions, read our frequently asked questions about examination and certification.

Need help preparing for your exam? View TSSA's Certification Examination Preparation Guide (pdf).

Skills Passports

All elevating device mechanics and mechanics-in-training are required to hold and maintain a Skills Passport for the scope of work they are performing. They are a requirement for certification.

Skills Passports include the experience and skills acquired in specific areas within the elevating devices industry. They also point supervising mechanics, inspectors, employers, and mechanics-in-training, toward areas where additional experience may be needed.

Skills Passports include:

Non-Apprentice Skills Passports

TSSA no longer provides non-apprentice skills passports. This passport can be found on Skilled Trades Ontario.

Certificate Reinstatement

Elevating device mechanics or mechanics-in-training must apply for reinstatement if they have failed to renew their certificate of qualification within 12 months from the date of its expiry.

TSSA assesses all applicants individually. Applicants approved for reinstatement at the EDM-A through EDM-F certification levels will be required to undergo a written examination  in order to qualify for reinstatement of the certificate.

Learn more about the:

Out-of-Province Applicants

Out-of-province applicants who have completed training programs in their home jurisdiction or those with existing qualifications in Ontario may apply for a Non-Matched Out-of-Province Certificate Assessment for EDMs (pdf).

Out-of-Province apprentices who are enrolled in an accredited training program in their home jurisdiction may apply for an EDM-T certificate by following the Elevating Device Mechanic-In-Training Out-of-Province Certificate Transfer guideline (pdf).

Accredited Training Providers

Training providers must be accredited by TSSA before they are eligible to provide or offer a training program to the public. In order for an individual/organization to become accredited, they must submit an Application for Accreditation as an Elevating Devices Training Provider (pdf) to TSSA that meets the requirements of the Training Provider Accreditation Policy (pdf), and the curriculum requirements below.