S - Skip to page content

Technical Standards
& Safety Authority
jQuery Slider
Fuels Banner

Home > Fuels


TSSA's Fuels Safety Program regulates the transportation, storage, handling and use of fuels as to ensure conformance to the Technical Standards and Safety Act, 2000, and applicable regulations, codes and standards. These fuels include natural gas, propane, butane, hydrogen, digester gas, landfill gas, fuel oil, gasoline, and diesel. TSSA licenses fuel facilities, registers contractors and certifies tradespersons who install and service equipment.

Additionally, TSSA reviews and approves facility plans for sites licensed by TSSA, and performs custom equipment approvals and inspection services to ensure fuel is handled and used safely.

The three stages of the fuels life cycle that fall under TSSA's jurisdiction are:

  • transmission, distribution and transportation;
  • storage and dispensing; and
  • utilization (burning).

Go to top